docs
/

Shutdown

2 min read

Learn how to configure workspace auto-off behavior.

You can specify the duration of inactivity allowed before a workspace automatically shuts down. This helps you optimize your resource allocation since automatically shutting down idle workspaces can save resource availability and reduce costs.

A workspace that's stopped must be rebuilt before it can be used again. All data outside of /home is lost during rebuild. Please store any changes you would like persisted across rebuilds with the Dotfiles feature.

If Code Web (VS Code in a browser), the web terminal, or an SSH connection are open, Coder considers the workspace to be active and will not automatically shut down.

Configuring workspace shutdown behavior

If you have administrative privileges, you can configure the workspace shutdown behavior. Configuring the workspace shutdown behavior is done at the organization level.

In the Coder dashboard, go to Manage > Organizations and choose the organization you'd like to modify.

Click Edit in the top-right. In the dialog that opens, use the slider underneath Workspace Shutdown Behavior to select the maximum allowed duration.

Select User-controlled workspace shutdown behavior if you'd like to allow users to set their desired shutdown behavior. This will override the org-level setting.

Configure shutdown behavior

See an opportunity to improve our docs? Make an edit.