New
The Gartner Hype Cycle Emerging Technologies Report is out!

Download now

Permissions

Permissions

Template Permissions

Permissions allow you to control who can use and modify the template. Both individual user and groups can be added to the access list for a template. Members can be assigned either a Use role, granting use of the template to create workspaces, or Admin, allowing a user or members of a group to control all aspects of the template. This offers a way to elevate the privileges of ordinary users for specific templates without granting them the site-wide role of Template Admin.

By default the Everyone group is assigned to each template meaning any Coder user can use the template to create a workspace. To prevent this, disable the Allow everyone to use the template setting when creating a template.

Create Template Permissions

Permissions is an enterprise-only feature.

See an opportunity to improve our docs? Make an edit.